PikeAngler
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Lake xxxxxx

+7
tackle tart
stubbo
greg
adie1200
tootall
newie2010
topgunny
11 posters

Go down

Lake xxxxxx Empty Lake xxxxxx

Post  topgunny Fri Feb 25, 2011 9:12 am

Hi all.
Know i'm pretty new to both pike fishing and this forum but thought i'd share what was a pretty good days fishing on Lake xxxxxx yesterday.
I normally go with the father in law and the brother in law but the father in law was working so it was just the two of us. After getting to xxxxxx at about quarter to eight (don't even ask why it was so late - had to keep going back for things we'd forgotten!) we got our rods in and settled down.

Lake xxxxxx Img_1111
Lake xxxxxx Img_1112

At about eleven Mark got a run but lost it, but he didn't have time to sulk too long because he had another run about 10 minutes later. As it was coming in he said to me that he thought it was small because of the lack of fight but about 10 yards from the bank it splashed it's tail and I thought, that definitely isn't small!

Lake xxxxxx Img_1119
Lake xxxxxx Img_1120
Lake xxxxxx Img_1117
Lake xxxxxx Img_1116

It was a 29 pound monster! I'm to blame for adjusting the scales wrong - Mark told me they weigh 1lb so I put it back a pound before he weighed it to give an accurate reading but once the fish was safely back in the water I weighed the bag and it was only 1/2 lb! To say we were excited would be an understatement! The only thing that could have made this better would be if I caught but, alas, that wasn't to be (but I am getting used to blanking!).

About 45 mins later when we still hadn't settled down Mark got another run. This time was only a measly (kidding) 10lb! Talk about someone getting all of the luck!

Lake xxxxxx Img_1118