Beginner here needing help!

View previous topic View next topic Go down

Beginner here needing help!

Post  brumler on Thu Nov 14, 2013 8:10 pm

Hi all,

I'm looking to start pike fishing this winter. I'm an avid carp/coarse angler but never tried pike, which I've been wanting to for a while.

I'm looking for a bit of help with the tackle I need. I'm looking to lure fish on rivers/fisheries, and need some help on which are the best rods/reels/tackles to buy. I'm a student, so money isn't endless for me! So any the best cheapest tackle would be good! Or names of makes, or spec of rod/reel and I can have a search online, ebay etc.

I appreciate all the help, and thanks in advance

Rhys

brumler

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Re: Beginner here needing help!

Post  plumb68 on Thu Nov 14, 2013 9:02 pm

Best bit advice anyone can give you is go with someone with a bit of experience, especially if your starting with lures, I have been piking on and of for 20 years and still a novice, I started lure fishing 2 years ago and they are so much harder to unhook I certainly wouldn't want to try on my own with my first fish
plumb68

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Post  brumler on Thu Nov 14, 2013 10:24 pm

thanks for that, i'll ask around to see if anyone i know has any! anyone any help with tackle please?

brumler

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Post  plumb68 on Fri Nov 15, 2013 7:07 am

Oh yeah tackle lol,
I use a wychwood agitator lure rod 20-60gram about 40 if you shop around,
A shimano sienna front drag 4000 size with I think 50lb fox braid or get power pro,
And I usually use savagegear 4 play lures the 52 gram ones there swim baits good starting point in my opinion
plumb68

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Post  symonh2000 on Sun Nov 17, 2013 10:17 pm

If you were planning on deadbaiting at moderate range then your current Carp rods will most likely be adequate.