PikeAngler
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Beginner here needing help!

5 posters

Go down

Beginner here needing help! Empty Beginner here needing help!

Post  brumler Thu Nov 14, 2013 8:10 pm

Hi all,

I'm looking to start pike fishing this winter. I'm an avid carp/coarse angler but never tried pike, which I've been wanting to for a while.

I'm looking for a bit of help with the tackle I need. I'm looking to lure fish on rivers/fisheries, and need some help on which are the best rods/reels/tackles to buy. I'm a student, so money isn't endless for me! So any the best cheapest tackle would be good! Or names of makes, or spec of rod/reel and I can have a search online, ebay etc.

I appreciate all the help, and thanks in advance

Rhys

brumler

Back to top Go down

Beginner here needing help! Empty Re: Beginner here needing help!

Post  plumb68 Thu Nov 14, 2013 9:02 pm

Best bit advice anyone can give you is go with someone with a bit of experience, especially if your starting with lures, I have been piking on and of for 20 years and still a novice, I  started lure fishing 2 years ago and they are so much harder to unhook I certainly wouldn't want to try on my own with my first fish
plumb68
plumb68

Back to top Go down

Post  brumler Thu Nov 14, 2013 10:24 pm

thanks for that, i'll ask around to see if anyone i know has any! anyone any help with tackle please?

brumler

Back to top Go down

Post  plumb68 Fri Nov 15, 2013 7:07 am

Oh yeah tackle lol,
I use a wychwood agitator lure rod 20-60gram about £40 if you shop around,
A shimano sienna front drag 4000 size with I think 50lb fox braid or get power pro,
And I usually use savagegear 4 play lures the 52 gram ones there swim baits good starting point in my opinion
plumb68
plumb68

Back to top Go down

Post  symonh2000 Sun Nov 17, 2013 10:17 pm