PikeAngler
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

help me im new to this...

4 posters

Go down

help me im new to this... Empty help me im new to this...

Post  briand1984 Sat Jul 18, 2009 10:53 pm

hi all, ive not been into pike fishing for long and am struggling a bit. im used to flyfishing a lot and the odd bit of spinning on my good old holidays in sunny scotland. ive only ever caught two jack pike about 2 pounds, one on the fly which was great and another on spinner, both unexpected while fishing for trout. my mate and i have been fishing the river forth just behind stirling for the last few months. in 5-6 visits weve seen loads of fish including a big pike cruising by but not caught any. Crying or Very sad . last two times we took a pike pack (frozen mackerel) and tied it up as so ; tied on a 3 way swivel, then clipped a 25cm trace on the side then a hook. then tied on about 2 ft of line to the bottom of swivel to the 1/2 oz weight. bit of hassle getting the bait to stay on so tied it up with more line onto the hook. im not sure if ought were doing is right and any help would be appreciated. the river is about 35 ft wide on average and looks at least 6ft deep at the side. theres loads of small trout and other fish . had some kind of bottom feeder on a fly once,maybe roach or sumthing, not sure. but there must be pike. just dont know how to get them. brian

briand1984

Back to top Go down

help me im new to this... Empty Re: help me im new to this...

Post  noodle Sat Jul 18, 2009 11:14 pm

where to start???

1st things ist get hold of any local pikers you can and beg them to help you it will make a massive difference. a good place to start would be the PAC and the locl region to you.
second your gear needs to be right from unhooking stuff to line to rods
unhooking gear a pair of forceps around 8 inches long some long nose pliers and a pair of side cutters are most important