PikeAngler
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Circle hooks.

+2
steve.w
Bryanmcdonald
6 posters

Go down

Circle hooks. Empty Circle hooks.

Post  Bryanmcdonald Thu Oct 11, 2012 12:42 pm

I have only fished with luers so far but want to try dead bating, why do we use 2 sets of trebbles on the bait, cant we use a large circle hook to do the job, I am new to pike so I am asking because I can understand why people dont use a set up like that.

Last edited by Bryanmcdonald on Thu Oct 11, 2012 12:49 pm; edited 1 time in total (Reason for editing : misspelling)
Bryanmcdonald
Bryanmcdonald

Back to top Go down

Circle hooks. Empty Re: Circle hooks.

Post  steve.w Thu Oct 11, 2012 2:59 pm

Hi Bryan,we use two trebles because of the length of the bait,a long mackerel or herring needs one in the tail and one in the flank,if you are using a small roach or sprat then one treble will do.I liked using VB double hooks in the past for small baits.I have never tried circle hooks so I cant speak from experience,but I think you would get a lot of dropped runs.They are used for carp and sea fishing,fish that suck in a bait differently to a pike.And I believe that the fish always get hooked in the scissors,A lot of pike anglers think that hooking a pike in that position is not good for the pike,but then again what hook hold is good for them?
As a pike grabs the bait it usually just grips it and swims off with it in the front of it's jaws,so if you wait for it to tighten up and hook itself chances are it will just drop the bait.But fishing is all about trying something different,so give it a go and let us know what happens.You could try it on one rod and the usual set up on the other and compare results.Good luck.
steve.w
steve.w

Back to top Go down

Post  noodle Fri Oct 12, 2012 2:02 am