PikeAngler
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Fish Care - am I really being kind?

+2
adie1200
Tidyfish
6 posters

Go down

Fish Care - am I really being kind? Empty Fish Care - am I really being kind?

Post  Tidyfish Sat Oct 30, 2010 10:38 pm

I picked this up from a locked thread further down - thanks Andy W for making me think.

"An inexperienced angler could do a lot of harm to gills with a glove. But we shouldn't discourage all newbies. After all we have all been there. The aim should be to learn more pike friendly techniques over time."

I'm not a newbie as such - but I've been out of the game for nigh on 20 years. I was brought up properly to look after the fish before it went back - my Dad was a stickler. He always used a leather glove though, and consequently I did the same - only on one hand, gently in the gills (whilst the fish is on the floor - so no weight it brought to bear) to keep the mouth open whilst using the forceps to remove the hook.

I'm starting back on Tuesday and, unless anyone shows me the error of my ways, if I'm lucky enough to get one I'll be back to the old ways. Having had a few cuts myself I'd be nervous going in without some protection.

Tidyfish

Back to top Go down

Fish Care - am I really being kind? Empty Re: Fish Care - am I really being kind?

Post  Tidyfish Sat Oct 30, 2010 11:22 pm

Crikey - glad I looked - just found this on another site.