PikeAngler
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

canal piking tips neded please people

+2
plantsbrook
piking newbie3485
6 posters

Go down

canal piking tips neded please people Empty canal piking tips neded please people

Post  piking newbie3485 Tue Nov 13, 2012 5:26 pm

looking for some hints and tips to help me with attacking the local canals for the pike all coments much appreciated people as im a newbie
piking newbie3485
piking newbie3485

Back to top Go down

canal piking tips neded please people Empty Re: canal piking tips neded please people

Post  plantsbrook Tue Nov 13, 2012 6:39 pm

If you are new to piking, try and go out with someone experienced, just to help with the handling side of things, pike are very different to handle than most other freshwater fish.

if you don't know anyone who pike fishes already, give me a shout and I will join you, i'm no expert but i would happily show you the basics.

in terms of fishing the canal specifically - i've not done much on canals (mostly rivers and lakes) - but i know some other lads on here do a fair bit on canals... i'm sure they will be along it a bit to give you some advice.

welcome to the site !
plantsbrook
plantsbrook

Back to top Go down

canal piking tips neded please people Empty Re: canal piking tips neded please people

Post  MAD BAD ANGLER Tue Nov 13, 2012 9:11 pm

look for marinas, very good place to start. talk to a few match anglers, they will always tell you if they have had any pike trouble. if a lot of boats use the canal stick to float fishing your baits and make sure you get them wound in before they get too close and lastly ive found fishing 2 or 3 days after a match better than a day or too after. hope that helps. Very Happy Very Happy Very Happy

Back to top Go down

Post  stubbo Tue Nov 13, 2012 10:38 pm

find where the silvers shoal up in winter thats where the pike will be muck clown
stubbo
stubbo

Back to top Go down