PikeAngler
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

What tactics do you prefer?

+2
Andy Macfarlane
Lefty
6 posters

Go down

What tactics do you prefer? Empty What tactics do you prefer?

Post  Lefty Tue Aug 26, 2008 6:45 pm

I'll start the ball rolling by telling you that I mainly use deadbaits but also do some spinning and lure work.

Not very successful using the lures and spinners as I'm still learning how to work them correctly.

Mainly do float ledgering and I'm currently trying out a new rig that has so far proved to be very easy for removal from the pike's mouth and have got my mate using the same rig. Still refining the rig for optimal size hooks and positioning in the deadbait but hoping to cut it down from 2 hooks to 1. Oh yeah, I don't use trebles but singles and barbless ones at that. Except for on on lures then it's trebles with crushed barbs

I'll keep you posted on the rig and will include some pics of it at a later date.
Lefty
Lefty

Back to top Go down

What tactics do you prefer? Empty Re: What tactics do you prefer?

Post  Andy Macfarlane Wed Aug 27, 2008 4:19 pm

I do a bit of everything really. I'm pretty much at home with deads/livies/lures. I probably spend more time throwing lures simply because it takes far less organisation but I do love sitting behind 3 bite alarms, waiting for a run.
I don't just target pike though. I'm mad for big perch and brownies too and spend a fair amount of time chasing them with spinners. I'll have a crack at anything though. I've been fishing for 26 years I reckon but for the last few years it's mostly been pike.
Andy Macfarlane
Andy Macfarlane

Back to top Go down

Post  Lefty Thu Aug 28, 2008 9:51 pm

Whoops, should have done some research before stating I got a new rig. I did a little looking on-line and found out rigs using one single hook are already in use.